Strick Laws On Boating In Mississippi
Mississippi, like many other states, has strict laws about boating under the influence, meaning that you could be facing criminal charges and resulting consequences if convicted. Laws in Mississippi prohibit you from operating a watercraft while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Any motorized vehicle that has 27 or more horsepower that is used for transportation as a personal watercraft or on public waters is classified as a watercraft.
Blood Alcohol Concentration
Having a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or greater could land you in the hot seat with criminal charges, requiring you to speak to a Starkville DUI criminal defense attorney immediately. The consequences of your boating under the influence charge will vary based on the circumstances of your case. In most situations, a BUI is a misdemeanor, with possible penalties on a first offense carrying up to $1,000 in fines, and up to 24 hours in jail.
BUI Charges And Boating Safety
Any first offender of a BUI charge must also complete a boating safety course. A second and third offense of boating under the influence carries more significant consequences and could have your boating privileges revoked. BUI offenders who cause serious accidents in which another person is permanently disabled or killed could be facing felony charges.
Get Help With Your Mississippi DUI Charge
It goes without saying that you need to protect your rights and retain the services of an experienced attorney familiar with charges related to boating under the influence in Mississippi as soon as possible. The sooner that you can consult with a Mississippi DUI attorney, the easier it will be to figure out your next steps.